Our Medical Advisory Board

Alongside our leadership team is a group of exemplary medical professionals guiding our pioneering education, research, and support through voluntary expertise.


Lisa Foundation

Scientific Leadership And Results

The Lisa Foundation Scientific and Medical Advisory Board (SMAB) is composed of leading neurosurgeons and healthcare professionals from institutions across the United States who specialize in Brain Aneurysms. The SMAB provides scientific and clinical expertise to guide us in planning and implementing our various awareness, education, research and support programs for patients, their families and caregivers, and healthcare professionals.

This is a limited list of some of the notable medical professionals who have aligned themselves with the Lisa Foundation.  All SMAB members contribute their expertise on a voluntary basis with no conflict of interest between their professional work and the volunteer work they do for the Lisa Foundation.

Meet our Select Medical Advisory Board Members

Howard Riina

Professor, Vice Chair of Neurosurgery NYU Langone Director, Lisa Foundation Medical Advisory Board

Allan Brook

Montefiore Medical Center

Michael Lawton

President and CEO - Barrow Neurological Institute Chair, Department of Neurosurgery Robert F. Spetzler Neuroscience Chair

Matthew Potts

Northwestern University School of Medicine

Jared Knopman, MD

New York-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medicine and Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Hospital as Chief Resident Mount Sinai School of Medicine

Ricardo Hanel, MD, PhD

Baptist Stroke & Cerebrovascular Center, Co-Medical Director

Dr. Bekelis

Chairman of Neurointerventional Services for Catholic Health Services of Long Island (CHSLI) and the Director of the Stroke and Brain Aneurysm Center of Excellence in Good Samaritan Hospital Medical Center (GSHMC).

Dr. Mark Douglas Bain

Dr. Bain is very involved in the care of stroke patients through his neurovascular interventional and endovascular neurosurgery practice at the Cleveland Clinic.

Peter A. Rasmussen, MD, FAHA, FAANS, FSNIS

Peter A. Rasmussen, MD, is the Medical Director of Distance Health and Associate Professor of Neurosurgery in the Cerebrovascular Center at the Cleveland Clinic in Cleveland, Ohio.

Italo Linfante MD, FAHA

Italo Linfante is Medical Director of Interventional Neuroradiology and Endovascular Neurosurgery at Miami Cardiac and Vascular Institute

Brandon Baughman, PhD

Semmes Murphey Clinic

Ansley Grimes Stanfill, PhD, RN

University of Tennessee Health Science Center

Our Foundation

The Lisa Foundation, a 501 (c)(3), is the leading private funder of Brain Aneurysm initiatives that directly or indirectly support awareness, education, research, and survivor support in the U.S.

Our Mission

To foster a national dialogue and understanding around Brain Aneurysms and drive better patient outcomes through pioneering education, research, and support.

Contact Us

The Lisa Foundation

Administrative Office & Mailing Address

P.O. Box 13

Frankenmuth, MI 48734


Stay Informed

Sign up for our newsletter to receive important news and updates.

Scroll to Top